REACH

What is Reach? /

REACH is the new chemical regulation of the European Union and stands for Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals. It came into force on June 1, 2007 and replaces the previous European chemical legislations. The main aim of REACH is to further enhance the protection of human health and environment from the risks that can be posed by chemicals.

In contrast to previous regulations, REACH applies to all chemical substances and makes no differentiation between existing and new substances. To comply with the regulation, manufacturers and/or importers must evaluate the risks linked to the chemicals they market in the European Union and must provide users with pertinent safety information.

FUJIFILM Wako will take all necessary actions to register its relevant substances as stipulated by REACH in order to continue and secure the supply of our products in Europe.

Registration /

The registration timelines and requirements depend on the manufactured or imported substance quantities and its properties. Until June 1, 2018 all new and “phase-in” substances manufactured or imported in volumes greater than one ton per year must be registered with the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA). FUJIFILM Wako will take all necessary actions to ensure the continuous supply of our products in Europe and to implement the registration of the relevant substances on time.

Chemical Safety Assessment /

The main aim of REACH is the safe use and handling of chemicals. Therefore, for all substances which are manufactured or imported in an annual quantity of 10 metric tons or more, a Chemical Safety Assessment (CSA) is required. For this assessment, FUJIFILM Wako thoroughly evaluates the impact of its substances on humans and the environment and documents the results as well as the necessary risk measures in the Chemical Safety Report (CRS). Both documents, CSA and CRS, have to be submitted to the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) as part of the registration process.

Substances of Very High Concern /

REACH requires a special authorization procedure for Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC) which have very hazardous properties. These substances are published in the “candidate list” by the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) which evaluates whether or not these chemicals require authorization. Substances that become subject of authorization are listed in Appendix XIV of the REACH regulation. This implies that they cannot be marketed in the European Union unless an authorization is granted.

 

If you use our substances and you need more information regarding REACH, please do not hesitate to contact us (info@wako-chemicals.de).

Further links regarding REACH

European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
echa.europa.eu

German Association of the Chemical lndustry (VCI) 
www.vci.de

European Chemical lndustry Counsil {CEFIC) 
www.cefic.org

REACH

Was ist Reach? /

REACH ist die neue Chemikalienverordnung der Europäischen Union und steht für "Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals", also die Registrierung, Bewertung und Zulassung von Chemikalien. Die Verordnung trat am 1. Juni 2007 in Kraft und ersetzt die vorherige europäische Gesetzgebung. Das Hauptziel von REACH ist es, den Schutz der menschlichen Gesundheit und der Umwelt vor den Risiken, die durch Chemikalien entstehen können, zu verbessern.

Im Gegensatz zu früheren Verordnungen gilt REACH für alle chemischen Substanzen und unterscheidet nicht zwischen bereits bestehenden und neuen Substanzen. Um die Rechtsvorschriften einzuhalten, müssen Unternehmen die Risiken, die mit den von ihnen in der EU hergestellten und in Verkehr gebrachten Stoffen verbunden sind, bewerten und den Anwendern entsprechende Sicherheitshinweise zur Verfügung stellen.

FUJIFILM Wako wird alle notwenigen Maßnahmen ergreifen, um alle relevanten Substanzen gemäß der REACH-Verordnung zu registrieren und somit die Lieferung unserer Produkte im europäischen Markt weiterhin gewährleisten zu können.

Registrierung /

Die Fristen zur Registrierung und die jeweiligen Anforderungen hängen von der hergestellten oder importierten Substanzmenge und ihren Eigenschaften ab. Bis 1. Juni 2018 müssen alle neuen und sog. “Phase-in” Substanzen, die in größeren Mengen als eine Tonne pro Jahr hergestellt oder importiert werden, bei der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) registriert werden. FUJIFILM Wako wird alle notwenigen Maßnahmen ergreifen, um die kontinuierliche Bereitstellung unserer Produkte in Europa sicherzustellen und die Registrierung der relevanten Substanzen fristgerecht umzusetzen.

Stoffsicherheitsbeurteilung /

Das Hauptziel von REACH ist der sichere Umgang mit Chemikalien. Daher, ist für alle Substanzen, die in größeren Mengen als 10 Tonnen pro Jahr hergestellt oder importiert werden, eine Stoffsicherheitsbeurteilung (Chemical Safety Assessment) erforderlich. Im Rahmen dieser Evaluierung bewertet FUJIFILM Wako sorgfältig die Auswirkungen seiner Substanzen auf Mensch und Umwelt und dokumentiert die Ergebnisse sowie die notwendigen Risikomaßnahmen in dem Stoffsicherheitsbericht (Chemical Safety Report). Beide Dokumente müssen bei der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) als Teil des Registrierungsverfahrens eingereicht werden.

Besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe /

REACH verlangt ein spezielles Zulassungsverfahren für besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe (Substances of Very High Concern), die sehr gefährliche Eigenschaften aufweisen. Diese Substanzen werden in der „Kandidatenliste“ von der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA) veröffentlicht und es wird geprüft, ob diese Stoffe eine Zulassung erfordern. Substanzen, für die eine Zulassung notwendig ist, werden im Anhang XIV der REACH-Verordnung gelistet. Das bedeutet, dass sie nicht in der Europäischen Union vertrieben werden dürfen, es sei denn es wird eine Zulassung erteilt.

Wenn Sie unsere Substanzen anwenden und Sie mehr Informationen über REACH benötigen, stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung (info@wako-chemicals.de).

 

Weitere Informationen zu REACH unter folgenden Links

European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
echa.europa.eu

German Association of the Chemical lndustry (VCI) 
www.vci.de

European Chemical lndustry Counsil {CEFIC) 
www.cefic.org